BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Quality    Water layer in my fuel just above glycerin

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Water layer in my fuel just above glycerin
 Login/Join

posted
Help! I have been making BD for a couple years now and started with new fresh oil which I pressed from this past summer, so it's clean and good. I titrated numerous times and have now made a few mini batches from the new oil. The reaction seems to be great BUT I have noticed a thin layer of water between the fuel and the glycerin. Why is this?? Can anyone help me figure out how to remove it? Any ideas will be helpful. Thank you!

Location: United States | Registered: February 24, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post
Are you absolutely certain that it is water ? The glycerine layer is very hygroscopic, meaning it readily absorbs water, so for water to be sitting atop the glycerine is unlikely.

What you may have is un reacted oil. Are you sure the titration value is correct and that sufficient caustic was used in the reaction? Next on the list would be the quality of the caustic; has it been exposed to humidity which would diminish it's properties and affect the end product.

Was it reacted long enough at 55C (130F) to assure a complete reaction ?

** Biodiesel Glycerine Soap - The Guide
- on 5 continents helping people make & sell soap from the Biodiesel Glycerine.

Location: :-) Great White North eh ? | Registered: December 10, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post