BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Quality    New glycerol and methanol test kits - market study questions

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New glycerol and methanol test kits - market study questions
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone,

My name is Jake, and I'm working for a small biotech company (NECi, www.nitrate.com) that is developing a testing kit and equipment for testing glycerol in biodiesel. The kit is meant to be an easy kit that will test to the ASTM's standard of 0.02% glycerol by volume. Originally, we were thinking of marketing this test kit to major manufacturers, but as a biodiesel hobbyist myself, I wanted to see if there would be any interest with other folks doing it at home.

If you guys wouldn't mind taking some time to answer a few questions, I would greatly appreciate it. Please don't think I'm spamming the board, as we don't have an actual product yet, but we're just trying to gauge interest. I'd also be happy to answer any questions you all might have as well.

How are you currently testing to insure that your biodiesel is glycerol free? Using the “3-27” or soap titration method?

Do you have any interest in a more accurate method where you can actually quantify the amount of glycerol in your sample?

How about methanol in your waste glycerin?

To make the kit work, we’re developing a hand-held spectrophotometer that will interface with a smart-phone for reading the absorbance and store and track the data. This will likely be in the $150 range.

Is that something you would be interested in purchasing to use the kit, or is it cost prohibitive?

Thanks a lot folks,

Jake

posted Hide Post
Hi Jake,
I tend to go a bit overboard on testing, many years ago I worked in a lab(I think I'm re-living my youth)
I would be interested.

Location: YORK UK | Registered: April 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post