BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Quality    Need 1 oz of KOH for Titration.

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need 1 oz of KOH for Titration.
 Login/Join

posted
I am just getting started into Biodiesel production after 2 successful test batches. I have decided to establish and perform as many of the ASTM tests as practical to ensure passable quality fuel for my vehicle. Built the manometer for water content, conducted process completion, (3/27 test) residual catalyst and soap content. Now the reason for this post, I want to test for total acid. To do so requires a 0.10% solution of KOH. Since I use NaOH, I do not have ant KOH and do not want to purchase 2 lbs for this purpose. Anyone using KOH in their process that would be willing to send me 1 oz., I will pay you material cost and postage thru PayPal. Interested parties, send me an email at retired62441@yahoo.com and I will send you my mailing address.

Thanks Jeff

Location: Casa Grande, AZ | Registered: January 28, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You want to test for total acid? Can't you use NaOH instead of KOH in the proceedure? They're similar strong bases. Are you talking about titrating the starting vegetable oil for free fatty acid content? Thanks

Location: Texas | Registered: April 27, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post