BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Quality    Clear 3/27 but with clear precipitant?

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Clear 3/27 but with clear precipitant?
 Login/Join

posted
Lately I have been getting a strange result in my 3/27 tests. I have been making biodiesel for 4 years and for the most part it has been a consistent experience until recently. I typically use 20% methanol and process at 130 for 1.5 to 2 hours. I test my product before I stop the process to determine if the process is complete. A typical failure is the usual cloudy mixture that eventually precipitates brown oil and the success is the crystal clear yellow tint. As of late, I am getting a crystal clear result with a penny size clear substance in the bottom. The separation is instant after I shake it up. No cloudy period. Normally that would be the sign of a successful test with no precipitate. I have never gotten this result before so I am wondering if there might be something else in my oil that wasn't there before. I settled the mixture and drew off the glycerin and reprocessed with about 20% of the original methanol caustic and the results didn't seem to change. I still had the penny size clear substance in the bottom of my test. The entire test is crystal clear, even the precipitate. Is it just difficult oil? I quit titrating years ago because it never changed.

Location: Asheville, NC | Registered: January 19, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Interesting, could it be unprocessed animal fat, what happens if you put the 3/27 sample in the freezer for an hour?

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post