BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Quality    AFTER 1 STAGE PRODUCTION GLYCERIN SEPARATES BUT. NEED HELP!.

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

AFTER 1 STAGE PRODUCTION GLYCERIN SEPARATES BUT. NEED HELP!.
 Login/Join

posted
HELLO GUYS,

QUESTION, 1 STAGE PRODUCTION LOOKS GOOD, GLYCERIN SEPARATES OUT, THEN I POUR OUT GOOD BIODIESEL AND WASH 3 TO FOUR TIMES, , THE PROBLEM: OIL SEEMS HAZZY ALTHOUGH WATER LOOKS CLEAR, I WASH SEVERAL TIMES LET STAND FOR 24 HOURS BUT STILL HAZZY, WHAT CAN THIS BE? I LIVE IN A HUMID ENVIRONMENT, CAN INITIAL OIL HAVE TO MUCH WATER IN IT? HOW CAN I CLEAR THE 2 ND STAGE BIODIESEL?

posted Hide Post
I am not an expert. I would say dry wash using magnesium silicate after bubble drying warm biodiesel. I guess the cloudiness is caused by water clinging to mono and diglycerides. Drying the biodiesel, then dry washing should remove most of it I expect. Oil might have been wet, methanol might have been wet, Sodium hydroxide might have been old or degraded, might have not used enough caustic catalyst. Might not have reacted long enough at high enough temperature. Might have not used enough methanol even if it was dry methanol. Might not have mixed adequately during reaction. If you are really in need of help, how did you make it? I only make very small batches, but I might be able to help. Thanks

Location: Texas | Registered: April 27, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
hey wesley, thanks for your reply,