BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Straight Vegetable Oil (SVO) as fuel  Hop To Forums  Two Tank Systems    mercedes 92 300D 2.5TD. Greasecar two tank
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

mercedes 92 300D 2.5TD. Greasecar two tank
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone,
I just bought a MB 92 2.5TD with a greasecar copilot v1.7 on it that has been sitting for 2 years.
I am new to 2 tank systems. I have been running a chevy 6.5 on gas blen for 4 years.
I would like to get this 2 tank system running and hopefully burn some of the thicker fats and bacon lard that I cannot use in my one tank chevy.

I have thought to insulate fuel tank and all lines as much as possible to keep fuel as warm as possible between cycles...I have never heard anyone doing this although it seems simple to me...any mayor problems? reasons not to do it?

Whats the recomended temp for thermostat? I have heard that recently car manufacturers have realized that emissions lower with hotter engines and that they run better. I changed my chevy tsta to 200F and runs like a champ. I can't find any tstat for the MB 2.5TD above 176F (80C)....anyone knows a crossreference for higher temp?

I can't find any switch in the car to switch svo-diesel, is this a normal installation when using a copilot control? no manual redundancy in case something goes wrong on software?
thanks everyone,
L

Location: NY | Registered: December 10, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It has a HIH from the trunk to the svo filter which has a copper loop around.
It gets cold in upstate NY 0F for sure -15F sometimes. Should I be looking to FPHE?
how well will this type work?
thanks

Location: NY | Registered: December 10, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi L

Don't know much about co-pilot, its automatically switched, I presume based on some temperature I suspect.