BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Equipment    IBC tote processer

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

IBC tote processer
 Login/Join

posted
So I've been making biodiesel off and on for the last two years now and have got my process working good with reliable results using a basic apple-seed processer with a dry wash in 35 gallon batches. I do a lot of driving in my landscape business and use bio whenever I can to save money and also use that as selling point for some of my more "earth friendly" customers and also sell glycerin soap to them as well. Thing is I spend too much of my time devoted to making 35 gallon batches and would like to move up to something larger like 100, 150 or 200 gallons. It got me thinking the other day about why wouldn't an IBC 275 gallon tote work for that? Obviously you'd have to have a larger pump/pumps, more custom piping and a custom setup for a heating element but otherwise why wouldn't one work? My batches are always around 130° F and from what I've read the totes maximum temp tolerance is 140° so why have I not read about anyone using one before? I am pretty much already planning to build one soon but I'd like to hear some opinions before I start spending time and money first.

Location: Olympic Peninsula, WA USA | Registered: October 07, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi,
I share your frustration of the limits of a 40 gal reactor.
Many people would discourage you from using plastic however...look around a bit...
Unless all your heating is done externally...I think...

It seems that a propane tank or equivalent provides a very safe vessel that also allows vacuum distillation for speed and ultimate efficiency...

Location: Ontario | Registered: April 13, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post