BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Equipment    Sight Tube Question

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sight Tube Question
 Login/Join

posted
Newbie here, so excuse the stupid question... I'm in the process of designing a processor and have the following question regarding a sight tube. How "accurate" is the sight tube in determining the level of glycerin after settling? What im trying to get at is: you pour in the oil, and add Methoxide. after 8-12 hours you come back and in your sight tube, you should see a layer of glycerin. Would this level be exactly the same height in your tank as well? Basic laws of fluids would say that the level at the top of the sight tube would be the same as the level on the tank, but im thinking that with 60 or 80 gallons of biodiesel in the tank that presses down on the glycerin layer, that weight might push the level of the glycerin in the tube upwards. im convinced that the TOTAL level would be the same in the sight tube and tank, but has anyone experienced what im trying to say here?

posted Hide Post
i wouldn't think it would be very accurate. in fact i'm quite sure of it. biodiesel and glycerin don't like eachother, so that makes it hard to "equilibrate" their levels in two connected "tanks". they would have to flow thru each other to equilibrate.

my site tube is set up (by complete accident really) so that i can open the valve at the base and drain it before and during reaction. in other words, it's empty during reaction. once i'm done mixing, i open the valve and fill the site tube and then immediately close the valve. then i can monitor how the settling is going, and once it is done you can simply measure the relative heights to calculate % crude glyc.

alternatively, (and slightly more accurate) is to draw off 500 mL into a graduated cylinder right after mixing is done.