BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel For Heating    Boiler advice for a newbie

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Boiler advice for a newbie
 Login/Join

posted
We just found a supplier of B100 and intend to switch from the B5 we have been using. As it turns out, our tank and fuel line needed to be replaced anyway, so we will be starting the pure biodiesel with new equipment in that regard. Other than that, we have a pretty typical Burnham oil furnace. I am not technical and our furnace technician, though competent, doesn't have experience with biodiesel. He will be changing out oil gaskets for ones that will not degrade. But I have read widely varying accounts of whether and how the nozzle or fuel pressure need to be adjusted.

Can anyone explain to me the basic principles or reasons behind why the nozzle and/or fuel pressure might need to be adjusted, how I will know if they need to be adjusted, and how involved (or expensive) it is for me to get them adjusted?

Thanks in advance for any help.

posted Hide Post
Is your oil tank inside? B100 will freeze and or burn inconsistently if your tank is outside.
I installed a new Biasi boiler in my home this spring that I run on B100.
I used black iron pipe for the fuel feed line to the filter head which I mounted on the boiler, I used a standard flexible braided oil line from the filter head to the burner to make it easy to service the burner. The problem with the standard copper feed lines is that they corrode in biodiesel. I wouldn't worry about the small copper lines inside the burner itself as they can be easily replaced if needed.
B100 has a different viscosity and contains more oxygen then standard fuel oil and therefore does not atomize nor burn the same. It requires a higher pressure and less air then dino fuel.