BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel For Heating    My Oil Heater

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

My Oil Heater
 Login/Join

posted
Hey folks, I am new to this forum (first post actually), and new to biodiesel. I have collected 5 55gal HDPE drums for production and storage so far. I have to source the pumps and other things still to make a processor and so on.

The reason I am interested in producing is for my oil heater. I don't have a diesel car/truck, but I have been burning wood for the past two years since oil is through the roof. Now I am tired of splitting wood and all that jazz. I still may use it, but would like to go back to the oil furnace for the wifey and kids (always saying I'm cold in the winter).

So, I have an old Carrier heater/AC unit that is forced air. The house was built in 1956 and from what I can tell it has never been upgraded. It works and puts out lots of heat with the oil. What do I need to do to modify my system to burn bio? I opened the side panel last night and looked at the unit. It has a red cap on something with a 1.00 on it. I am assuming this is the nozzle sized? The unit is also rated at over 150K BTU and no more than 1.35gal per hour. I have an underground 550gal storage tank that I would love to pack with bio. This leads to another question. The tank is buried below the frost line and from what I remember about geology, the ground stays pretty consistently at 60F? How would this fair for biodiesel? I have heard of additives if needed for longer storage and cooler temps.

I am posting pics of the unit too. I am looking for any help and advice if someone is so inclined to do so. I have read quite a bit on here and from what I can tell, I should be able to do this with minimal mods and effort (other than sourcing oil and processing it).