BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Dewatering/Drying Washed Biodiesel    Water wash then dry wash???
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Water wash then dry wash???
 Login/Join

posted
hello all,

I hope i am in the right section...

i am new to BD, processing only 40L batches for now. They pass the 3/27 test so now i need to wash but i was given some amberlite but not sure if i should use it.

I was thinking of a water wash but not sure which is the most effective as the first wash were most of the contaminants are removed; then i was considering a pass through the resin.

should i do both or just stick with the resin?

if i was to stick with water washing i prefer the bouble washing with stones because it minimizes spills.

too many choices equals confusion for me.

Evan

Jetta 2002 ; 6 hole nozzles, chip, yellow koni, gli springs, neuspeed RR sway bar, skid plate, SS brakes, TT shifter, TT bushings, GTi FR brakes
Jetta 2006 chipped, Bilstein Sport, Neuspeed Sport Springs, Neuspeed endlinks, DG SS, Evolution skid plate, Eibach RSB, B100

Location: Montreal | Registered: August 06, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi Evan,
I dont know much about amberlite resin.
But if you water wash first, even once, you'll probly want to dry the bio.

My resin, Purolite, is a mild desicant, but I try not to load up the resin with water or soaps.
If it works at all, your resin my be depleted in quick time.

2 or 3 more washes after the first, you may have it completed anyway, then on to drying.
And the polish the DRY bio with amberlite. or not.

I recommend all new producers to learn water wash at first.

HTH
Brian

1996 K2500 4x4 6.5TD

Location: Southern Indiana USA | Registered: June 20, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
yes i see the value in learning the basics...