BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Biodiesel Glossary    Abbreviations

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Abbreviations
 Login/Join

posted
I'm fairly new to this stuff (a couple of years), and I've been pretty focused on just doing what I was told (thanks Paul Wink, so I haven't spent a whole lot of time on the forums. Now that my process works pretty well (and consistently), I need to 'refine' it. So, I'm reading posts on methanol recover, and dry wash, etc.

One thing that I run into is abbreviations I don't know.

I was wondering if it would be possible to build a page of standard forum abbreviations? I was thinking of a single page and not a discussion (with many posts). If necessary, there could be sections specific to each forum (quality, equipment, esterification, methanol recovery).

If this is considered a good idea, then perhaps a sticky in the appropriate forums to the page.

Or has this already been done and I've missed it? :O

Location: Mt Airy, MD | Registered: May 31, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It probably should be a sticky (if it isn't already).

I'm still guessing on some. Some things have multiple abbreviations.
Likewise, there are a few abbreviations that could be ambiguous, but are usually clear from the context.

AE - Acid Esterification

AGW - Anthropogenic Global Warming

Alkaline - Basic solution (pH > 7). Usually having a base such as NaOH or KOH added.

ATF - Automatic Transmission Fluid

B5 - 5% Biodiesel, 95% Diesel

B20 - 20% Biodiesel, 80% Diesel

B99 - 99 (or 99.9%) Biodiesel, 1% Diesel (some tax regulations require slight amounts of Diesel, and thus this is a commonly available commercial mix).

B100 - 100% Biodiesel

BD, Bio - Biodiesel

CAT - Catalytic Converter

CAT - Caterpillar (heavy equipment manufacturer).