BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Oil Collection, Filtering, Dewatering  Hop To Forums  Oil Collection    Filter Press for Biodiesel ? Has anyone use it ?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Filter Press for Biodiesel ? Has anyone use it ?
 Login/Join

posted
Hello All

This is my first post and I am a newbie on biodiesel world. I am trying to produce biodiesel in Brazil and I have few doubt about filtering WVO. My goal is to produce 500 galons/week. I am going to heat it up and filter it from 600 microns - 400 - 200 - 100 - 75 and maybe 50 microns. After that I am thinking about using a filter press before start the whole process.

Has anyone used a filter press before ? What is your opinion about that ?

P.S - Sorry for my English.

Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil | Registered: October 18, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
we are committed to pyrolysis the waste plastic,rubber and waste tires to diesel .Here invoves some information you maybe need :http://www.doinggroup.com/index.php?u=show-317.html Good luck to you !

posted Hide Post
If your going to make biodiesel then screening through a window type screen or T shirt material ( what I use) is sufficient. more important is the dryness of your oil

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Ive used several industrial scale filter presses, and if well maintained and properly set up will do a great job pulling particulates out of your oil or biodiesel. Just make sure the specifications are what you need before you invest and you should be good! I dont know if it would be any use drying your oil though. If youre going that advanced people here would probably recommend a centrifuge. maintenance would cost more though.

posted Hide Post
Hi saulera,