BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Other uses for Glycerine by-product    Biodiesel from cracked Glycerine byproduct

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Biodiesel from cracked Glycerine byproduct
 Login/Join

posted
I’m relatively new to the art of making bio diesel and now have amassed several cubies of Glycerine by-product, which are now taking up space in my workshop area. I’m loath to send them to the land fill etc and I have no interest what so ever in making soap out of it. But on the other hand if one Acid cracks the by-product one gets relatively pure Glycerine and FFA (the soap made from FFA during the base stage turns back into FFA) in roughly equal measure and a bottom layor of salts.

Now is it possible to take these 100% FAA's and perform acid esterification on them with methanol to convert them directly into yet more Biodiesel. And Bypass the base stage as the glycerine has already been removed and go straight to a wash cycle. Am I missing something here or is everyone literally throwing away perfectly good fuel in the form of un-recovered FFA’s. I got some conc. H2SO4 to perform acid base experiments ill give cracking by-product a go and see if i can make Bio from FFA over Christmas, watch this space.

VW Passat 2.0 TDI with a BKP engine 86,000 miles on B100 and not going strong. Bio-diesel broke oil pump drive shaft! ..No oil pressure, dead turbo.

Location: Calne, Wiltshire, England | Registered: October 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yes, I have done a lot of this- it works really well because the recovered oils are so water-free to begin with, and because esterification of FFA's in biodiesel (that's what you have in the 'oil' layer) is a lot easier than esterification of FFA in triglycerides for various reasons.

Mark