BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Other uses for Glycerine by-product    The glycerine to gasoline thread....

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The glycerine to gasoline thread....
 Login/Join

posted
Hi,
I have been making Methyl Esters for 10 years. I have come up with a lot of ways of disposing glycerine but always have felt it was wasting it, not to make fuel out of it.
What I used to do was distill the methanol out of it. I'd normally just let the bears have at it.
I used an electric water heater to do the distilling. I'd fill it, (which was a collasal PITA), then let the element boil off the MeOH, and eventually the safety valve would kick open and blow all the water out too. The glycerine would come out of the water tank very hot. So hot, it would melt the cubies I used to store it in. I had to pour it into metal buckets and eventually drums.

Lately, I have been on a "why am I going through all this trouble to make BD" kick. I keep wondering about thermal cracking the tryglcerides directly.
Here are some thoughts...

This a triglyceride molecule.

This is methyl ester.

This is glycerine.

This is Acrolein.

The references I have from the origins of crude oil cracking show a rig like this....

They tell of heating glycerine and getting acrolein.
When I look at acrolein I see an Alkene and CO. Not sure how to go from acrolein to CO and Some Alkene. Lets set that aside for the moment...

"I don't work with collectives. I don't consult, I don't co-operate, I don't collaborate."
Howard Roark

Location: Calumet, Michigan, Great White North | Registered: January 20, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post