GL's Eco-System processor

This topic can be found at:
http://biodiesel.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/719605551/m/9921000191

February 28, 2010, 03:04 AM
J Long
GL's Eco-System processor
quote:
Originally posted by Hannes:
Good grief, I have been making bio for 6 years now with more than 250k km done on my own B100. Only recently came to this site and had the revelation that I am still brewing with dinosaurs. I have read and read and read just to catch up.

Q. The venturi is used (a) to mix in the methoxide and (b) to mix in air for drying and demeth. Once the methoxide has been mixed in (the venturi will then start to mix air in), do you bypass the venturi for the rest of the mixing/reaction period or do we continue with the venturi?

Q. Electricity has become very expensive here in the good old RSA, so I am not iterested in methanol recovery. I do however treat the next batch wvo with frist stage glycerol and discard the 2nd stage glycerol. Therefore not interested in whole batch demething. Am I correct to asume that demeth of the remaining bio in the reactor is done via the venturi mixing air in?

Answer 1.
The venturi is to get the methoxide into the reactor/processor. Once that is done, the flow is redirected to just mixing. Most of the GL users have installed a eductor to make the mixing more efficient. This is an extra gadget they have added to make the processor more efficient.

Answer 2.