BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Making Biodiesel    Questions on glycerol pretreatment and 5% water prewash

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Questions on glycerol pretreatment and 5% water prewash
 Login/Join

posted
I have been making biodiesel for about two years now starting with the single stage and progressing to two stage with no titration with pretty reasonable outcomes. My goal is to make the best quality biodiesel with good yield in the least possible time.I have used the glycerol pre treatment and the 5% water prewash but not both on the same batch.If I do this will I be able to use the resultant glycerine in subsequent batches.As I see it the glycerol attracts water so will it get to a point where it has too much water and be unable to be used in the subsequent batches.The point is to cut down on water washes which are time consuming.Input from experienced bio makers would be greatly appreciated.

Location: Kokstad.Kwazulu Natal.South Africa | Registered: June 23, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Jock, you can't use glycerol that has had the 5% prewash water mixed in to pre-treat your next batch.

The 'norm' is to use stage 1 glycerol for pre-treatment and stage 2 glycerol for the 5% wash.

Location: YORK UK | Registered: April 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi Jock,

quote:
Originally posted by Jock:
My goal is to make the best quality biodiesel with good yield in the least possible time.
If this is your goal then you should change to a single stage reaction with titration and bump your KOH up to 9g KOH + titration per litre of 50 deg C WVO.
As long as your reactor is an adequate design the reaction will be finished in about an hour.