BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Making Biodiesel    new to making diesel questions!

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

new to making diesel questions!
 Login/Join

posted
hey all i am new to making biodiesel..
have been gathering information and material will hopefully start brewing my first batch when i get enough used oils in the next week or two.. i just have some question that maybe people can clear for me..
1- i have been studing about tiration techinques and most websites i read give different data.. but the most common i read was number of Liters x (5grm plus tritation ml results).. so if ineeded 2ml of solution to ph balance my oil to 8.5 and i wanted to make say 50L of biodiesel i would need then 50x (5gr +2 = 7) 350grm of NaOh? is this what most people do?

2- also for the amounts of methanol.. i read also contrasting amounts... i read from 250ml x L so 2.5L per 10L i also read people using only 2L meth per 10L Oil .. or 20L for every 100L oil... i would make 50L biodiesel.. so would i need 10L or 12L methanol? is it a problem to go over or under? i guess i with 10L i can easly fill a kanister but for 12L then i would need to buy more then i would have odd amounts left overs...

3- was with the timings... i read people saying the need only 24 for the methonal /Lye to brew its way through biodiesel.. also read people needed 3 to 4 days.. even up to weeks! what are your experiances?

4- and finally.. was with the glycerin left overs.. in videos ive seen the glycerin comes out like a syrup.. but others texts i read they said it can solidfy in the vat.. what are peoples experiances with this using of course NaOh as a catalist?
thanks for anyhelp
cheers
-J

posted Hide Post
Hi fotorebelion, welcome to the forum.

quote:
Originally posted by fotorebelion: