BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Making Biodiesel    Building a $500 WVO filtering system

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Building a $500 WVO filtering system
 Login/Join

posted
I am from Australia (Down-Under),

I searched this forum, but could not find anyone showing people how to build a simple 2 micron WVO filtering system for under $500!

I am a novice, but have been told may storeys by people using WVO as Fuel in there vehicles.
I want to use WVO to run my 4X4WD and Forklift also.

I have built a collection system that all fits in an oversized X-Military radio box that can be easily transported.

I purchased Diesel pump kit on ebay, and converted it several times as the fittings & holes were to large a diameter, and were crap Chinese hoses that were way to stiff, making it difficult to pack-up and handle.

So, I replaced with re-enforced garden hoses, as it made no scene to use such big bulky hoses, as the 12v pump does not do Hi-volume filtering when is draws through a 2 micron, water blocking Marine filter & housing.

I have only tested my filtering system using reasonably clean Cotton seed oil from a silver service Greek Restaurant.

I initially only used/mixed the filtered WVO with Hydraulic oil in my old beast of a forklift, as it is a little thicker that the dam expensive oil, it actually substantially slowed down the leak from a worn mast seal, and obviously would do less damage leaking into the ground than Petrochemical oil with all the additives.

My Main question is: Can I simply filter the WVO down to 2 micron and use it to totally replace S/Station Diesel, ...or at least mix in 50/50 ?

PS: It never freezes over here.

posted Hide Post
Hi Madog,
Welcome to the forum.
quote:
Originally posted by Madog:
I am from Australia (Down-Under),