BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Making Biodiesel    Emulsion by bubbler?
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Emulsion by bubbler?
 Login/Join

posted
Newbie here. My last two batches have emulsified after I've left the bubbler on for about 6 hours. I'm using high quality dry canola. I've had either very little or no fall out. I'm manually adding hot water to the top of the bio and waiting at least 3 hours or overnight to drain water. I'm heating the bio each time before adding hot water. After the 2nd wash, things are looking good. The bio has a honey color. I run the bubbler, come back the next day, and it has emulsified. I have broken the emulsions with salt but I'm so new at this that I'm just confused about how it all works.
I've read about pump washing, bubble washing, static washing, mist washing...The bubbler seems like a great idea but I figured that after two washes it wouldn't have enough soap(or whatever it reacts with) to agitate and emulsify.
I'm using a small wooden block air bubbler and I can control the bubbles but after about 30 minutes it also starts pushing out large amounts of air. So even when I turn the bubbles down, those larger air pockets keep rising to the top. I'm not sure if that's enough to agitate. Maybe something is wrong with my bubbler.