Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home
Ten Most Common Ways to Screw-Up Making BD.

This topic can be found at:
http://biodiesel.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/719605551/m/143106132

May 28, 2012, 11:19 PM
dckfly
Ten Most Common Ways to Screw-Up Making BD.
quote:
Hello ,
I am new at this so i could really use your help in biodiesel transesterification reaction.
I use SVO and i added methanol 6:1 ration of methanol to oil. however the KOH content was 0.5% the reaction was performed under 120 F . I couldn't get any biodisel .
Can i know a small experiment that will lead to biodisel separation with exact amount of methanol and catalyst with reaction time.

Go online and search for "how to make biodiesel". Many resources out there.

Try this one: http://www.make-biodiesel.org/

Have fun

Dana Knight "dckfly"
Boulder, CO

Chevy Silverado Duramax
3 VW TDI (wife and friends)
May 29, 2012, 01:26 AM
maroulla
hello ,
Thank you a lot. No i did not titrate the oil before usage.
Should i titrate it to get the exact amount of catalyst used?
Thank you

maroulla el khoury
May 29, 2012, 01:54 AM
Johann Cape Town
Don't try to drain 400L of finished bio into a 200L container. Even if you try three times the outcome is the same. Frown

I'm not too sure about the methanol evaporation risk iro completing a reaction. I process through to demething in one non stop operation and an insignificant amount of methanol collects in the receiver until the batch reaches 80 deg C. Certainly at 70 deg C evaporation condensation over a two hour process period is negligible. I have no experience of air mixing which may differ of course.
May 29, 2012, 12:18 PM
RickDaTech
quote:
Originally posted by maroulla:
hello ,
Thank you a lot. No i did not titrate the oil before usage.
Should i titrate it to get the exact amount of catalyst used?
Thank you

Yes.

Rick

www.Make-Biodiesel.org

May 30, 2012, 12:36 PM
dckfly
quote: