Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

waste motor oil
 Login/Join

posted
hey now,my name is david,im a diesel inthuesist,and have an 01 f259 7,3.
i am not new to diesels or forums,i am new to putting other things in my tank other than diesel.
i am not looking for a fight from anyone,nor have i done any wmo useage,but i have heard of guys filtering it and blending it with diesel,what do you think of this as an alternative,to wvo or bio...

posted Hide Post
I have burned a blend of up to 50% filtered used motor oil and diesel in my 92 Dodge Cummins during warm weather over the last several summers, starts fine, runs fine, no more smoke than normal, no loss of power. It also works fine in a friends non-turboed 92 ford 7.3, he starts on one tank with diesel and switches to the blend once the engine has warmed up, he gets from 30-32 MPG on a 50/50 blend with an empty truck and freeway driving. I only have one tank so start and run on the same blend, wish I got that milage but I get the same as when burning straight diesel, no mods or heat added to either vehicle. This blend is too thick to use in cold weather but fine if the temps stay above about 60 deg f.

Used hydraulic oil is even better, a few folks have even posted that they are running up to 100% used automatic transmission fluid.

A couple things to avoid when blending used motor oil - I did tests trying to use acohol as a thinning solvent for a used motor oil blend and found that anything above a few percent, say 2 or 3, will likely cause the used motor oil to gell and drop to the bottom of the blend as clumps, this occured almost instantly with a 50/50 blend of UMO amd methanol, took a couple hours if using ethanol. Others folks have posted that they have had the same thing happen if even a small amount of Diesel Kleen fuel additive was mixed in the blend.

This links to another current discussion about the same subject that has the Diesel Kleen posts.

---------------------------------------------------------------------