BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    acid base questions
Page 1 2 3 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

acid base questions
 Login/Join

posted
I startedwith 25 gallons. 94 l, andbrought it up to temptode-water, once color was good I mixxed 10% methanol with 535 ml of Sulfuric acid. At 140 degrees I added the acidto my oil that titrated at 35. I mixed for one hour then let sit over night. This morning it had not really seperated, what I drained was like mocha colored, the oil was redish and cloudy. This is my first attempt with the acid base because this is my first oil that titrated so poorly. SO, where did I go wrong, what is it supposed to look like, how do I get this working. I am rather distressed, i had to put diesel in my car yesterday because of this crappy oil for the first time in over a year. Call me or post or email, but please help me. 772 215 4495, I would lve to talk to someone about how to get this working.

Location: Florida | Registered: March 05, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well the stuff you drain from the bottom is generally going to look pretty gunky. The acid stage is WAY more sensetive to water than base though.

Did you ever do a titration after you drained to see what your new titration # was?

From the sound of it I would recommend reading up on the acid stage both here (the big 70 page acid stage thread) and here

http://www.make-biodiesel.org/...id-base-recipes.html

The acid stage doesn't actually completely react your oil, it is simply a pre-treatment for the base stage.

There are plenty of people here that can guide you through it though.

posted Hide Post