BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    93% acid

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

93% acid
 Login/Join

posted
I am somewhat new to biodiesel processing and brand new to this forum. So if I am not clear please bear with me.

I added 93% sulfuric acid (brand new bottle) to methanol and did not get the reaction I was expecting. Everything I read said be ready for a boiling reaction when you add the acid to methanol. All I got was a very minor boil (perhaps a second) and nothing else. At this point I proceeded to add this mix to my oil (which titrated at 9). The oil did not titrate lower after several hrs. and after settling over night I had a separation of exactly the same amount as the methanol I added. I am now thoroughly confused and not sure which direction to head, Any help would be appreciated. Bill

Location: yes | Registered: July 16, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not sure why the reaction was weak, I had the methanol acid mix boil to the point the whole mess erupted with such force it rose 8 feet out of the container, the splash marks are still on the side of the processor to remind me to never mix acid and methanol. I always add the methanol to the oil, mix, then add the acid.
did you keep the oil hot over night? if so I suspect the oil was wet or the acid was not as strong as stated. How much acid/ltr of oil did you use? To get this bach finished add more acid so that the total acid in the mix is 3ml/ltr make sure the oil is at least 100f and well mixed the let it sit over night (100f - 135f)

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post