BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    Processor materials for AE

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Processor materials for AE
 Login/Join

posted
Ive been making biodiesel from low titration oil for four years but now I have some high titration oil 9,5ml koh. I tried to process it with glycerol pretreatment and 2 stage processing but it failed to convert. I think if I am going to regularly this type of oil I will need to use AE.
Ive read up on Dkennys method and I think Ive got a good understanding of it although I may have some questions as I go along.
My main concern is the effect the acid will have on my processor. It is a mild steel tank with brass plumbing fittings and pvc pipe. It uses a standard central heating circulation pump. Will these components withstand the acid process?
Would it be better to heat the oil in the processor and then pump it into an insulated plastic barrel, add the acid, mix it mechanically until it is done and then transfer it back to the processor for the base stage.
Would it be safe to reheat the oil using a 3kw immersion after the acid stage?

Location: Lismore Ireland | Registered: November 25, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
my old processor was mild steel, after five years of AE/base/base processing there was no indication of any corrosion what so ever. all plumbing on that processor was copper, the valves where brass and circ pump was one designed for hot water circ (heating), the plastic tank would also work but remember the AE process nedds heat the reaction will stop oncetemp drops below about 90f. I have electric heaters installed in my processor so reheating is not a problem.

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.