BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    Homebrew Acid-Base Biodiesel Recipes
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Homebrew Acid-Base Biodiesel Recipes
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Moved Reply:

I am not an expert on BD or anything else because I believe I can always something new,either by study or by accident. This is the way I do my acid/base conversion, 40 gal clean dry oil titrates at 4. Heat to 125 F add 210 ml sulfuric acid while mixing and 4 gal methanol mix for 2 hrs add 4gals methanol with 32 oz of lye disolved in it. mix for 1 hr turn off heat and mixer let settel for 1 or mor hrs and seperate. transfer to wash/dry tank thru a 1 mic bag filter heat to 185 F while airateing for approx 4 hrs at 185 F. Let settle nd cool to around 100 F filter thru mic filter to setteling tank and then to fuel storage when needed thru 1 mic filter and 5 mic water filter to vehicle tank. yeild has been 94 to 97 percent and I'm lovin it.

posted Hide Post
Moved Reply:

Tilly,

I will give this a try. Does the methanol play an active part in the acid's reaction with the WVO? I thought it was just something to dilute the acid from burning the oil during initial mixing.

Also, given the high temp of the preheated oil, is it of concern that much of the methanol would be evaporated off?

Finally, how much time is sufficient for the acid diluted in the methanol to get 6.0 titrated oil down to the 2-3 range?

Thanks!

quote:
Originally posted by Tilly:
Hello Netman, welcome to the forum

There was not enough methanol in the acid stage.
If you used 20% methanol for the reaction, 20% of 190 litres of WVO would be 38 litres of methanol in the total reaction.
Typically people put about 50% of this methanol (19 litres) in the acid stage.

I suggest doing a few test litres if possible before making bigger batches.
quote: