BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    Homebrew Acid-Base Biodiesel Recipes
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Homebrew Acid-Base Biodiesel Recipes
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
Moved Reply:

Hello Marc_s

I am glad you have found some of my advice useful.
I am not an expert with the FATTA method.
I have found that it may take a lot more than 2 hours for the acid stage to complete.
You do not need to mix all the time, but off and on.
I have been told that it takes about 1.4g NaOH to neutralise every ml of H2SO4 used in the reaction. That suggests that if you are using 1ml H2SO4 per litre oil, the lowest the titration will go is about 1.4 NaOH. As I recall, I rarely had the acid stage end titration below 2.

Hello Quamela
As troy points out, water is one of the products of the acid stage and is apparently what will eventually stop the acid stage if too much builds up.
If, when you stop mixing you allow the oil to sit for several hours you may see a layer form on top or bottom of the oil. This layer contains methanol, H2SO4 and water. If you remove this layer, you can add additional methanol and H2SO4 and continue the Acid stage.
Van Gerpen has papersHere and Here where he performed a test series using 2 stages of Acid esterfication and one Base transesterfication stage.

Location: ลึก ประเทศอินเดีย | Registered: March 03, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Moved Reply:

Hello Tilly

I was just wondering, do you currently process your oil this way? I have one more ? to ask, if you do not mind. Since you have been so helpful Big Grin Do you know what the SG of my bd should be when finished? How important is that factor?

Just a squirrel trying to get a nut................. '04 6.0 F250 No problem Big Grin.

posted Hide Post
Moved Reply: