BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    no reaction

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

no reaction
 Login/Join

posted
hi there i have been making biodiesel for around 4 years now,but on this one i am stumped.i have a 1000l conical tank which i make 500l of bio in a time.i use the foolproof method and have had great succes with it.however this batch will not react.there was no glycerin produced just a vat of sludge and jelly like stuff.i then thought it was water in the oil so i washed it out dryed the oil and started again.the first acid stage seemed to go ok,but i then added the methoxide and instantly got loads of white flakes appear on the top of oil and kept reactor going for at least 5 hours but still no glycerine separation just gunk.do i put it down to bad oil,but am gettin from same place and it looked fine,any help will be greatly appreciated as is a lot of oil to lose

posted Hide Post
Hello, I am new to the biodiesel hobby and have no experience but have been reading for a while now. In the call for BD producers using acid they explain that the white flakey stuff you are seeing may be cleaners used in the cooking oil. This will neutralize your acid and render it ineffective. It doesn't take much base to neutralize the acid as found in using a single processor for Acid Esterification. The remaining caustics in the lines hinder or render the acid added useless. Now this is off the top of my head which has absorbed way to many facts about bio not to find the discussion for your self.

Location: Chicopee, MA | Registered: February 28, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It still sounds like water is the culprit. If water is present when you add the methoxide you'll convert the oil to soap.