BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Acid Esterification    Top or bottom

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Top or bottom
 Login/Join

posted
I have a closed tank. How can I remove acid/methanol solution if it goes to the top without draining the tank? I'd like to transesterify in the same tank, but I don't know how to remove the acid layer if it goes to the top.

posted Hide Post
-If T is less than 15 KOH there is no need for any draining. I have been doing AE for 6 years and the only time I saw the methanol on top was in a test sample that was allowed to cool, once the sample cooled no amount of mixing would keep the methanol mixed in, but on the other hand the sample that was kept hot had NO methanol floating on top.
-DD or DKenny can provide you with the molar formala that if followed will ensure the by product sinks ( thats too hard for this old brain Big Grin)
-Good luck on the AE treatment, be sure your wvo passes the hot pan or spoon test with NO bubbles. Tom

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I don't get no need for draining if T is less than 15KOH. Are you saying leave it in and pass it along to transesterification. I'm a little green to all this. Thanks David

posted Hide Post
David
-yes that is correct, after AE is complete check T, this will give you sufficient caustic to neutralize the acid as well as complete the base reaction. My oil T's at about 8 Naoh, and after ae/base/water wash the yied is 95 - 98 % Tom

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sweet I'll give er a try.

posted Hide Post
please share the results..

good or bad..

-dkenny