BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Diesel vehicles and other diesel equipment  Hop To Forums  Offroad and Marine    VO and bio in construction equipment.

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

VO and bio in construction equipment.
 Login/Join

posted
I am a Florida General Contractor and I have been contracted to build an Earthship in Manatee County; aside from the obvious building code hurdles we are overcoming, we have decided to set up a "green camp" to have university students do a summer internship to learn about the various aspects of a completely off the grid home build. We have been using biodiesel in our earthmoving equipment, but for this build we have decided to use veggie oil in some of the equipment as we will be making biodiesel onsite, and I feel production cannot keep up with use with straight bio.

The theme of this build is sustainability, we are using as many recycled materials, and resources from the site as possible. There will be a good bit of media coverage for the event, so we are trying to adhere as strictly as possible to this tenet.

I have a 1985 Ford F-700 Dump truck with a Detroit Diesel; the truck currently has 2 50 gallon fuel tanks. My thinking is one of the tanks could be easily modified to use for WVO. I have 1987 Ford 555A backhoe that I am considering alternatives for. We have a John Deere Skid Steer which I feel may be a bit tight for a 2-tank system. We are also using a small Kubota tractor for mowing and road maintainence that may have room for a second tank.

What are you guys suggestions for this equipment? Again, we are trying to stick to technologies that are somewhat readily available and could be assembled by a group of college students; with of course my guidance.

Certified General Contractor
Specializing in Truly Sustainable Development

posted Hide Post