New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie to soap
 Login/Join

posted
Hi Guys, I'm new to this section

I'm looking for a recipie for a engine cleaner, I have loads of Koh glycerol, de-methed. Is it worth saponifieying this or should I just use it as is. Making it into a gel may be an advantage.

What happens to BD if you try to turn into soap as it is such a good solvent?

Cheeers in advance

Location: Cork | Registered: December 05, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post

posted Hide Post
BNG,

I think in your case the best way to create a nice engine cleaner would be to first work out a SAP value for your BDG so you can be sure that the BDG is fully saponified. You can use the information from the following blog post to help you with that.

KNC SAP Test

Coconut oil is an excellent additive for lather which will help lift the dirt.
Olive oil or Oleic acid will add extra cleaning ability.

Both of those will need to be saponified. You can use the KNC Soap Calculator to formulate a recipe, here is one example using the calculator.

16oz Biodiesel Glycerin (BDG) (25% SAP)
2oz Coconut Oil
2oz Olive Oil

Caustic Solution:
1.71oz KOH
6oz Distilled water

Optional:
0.41oz Scent of your choice
Additional Distilled Water (Soap:Water):
7.33oz 60:40 ratio
14oz 50:50 ratio
24oz 40:60 ratio

To add additional cleaning ability you could use Orange Oil as your scent. Orange oil is an excellent cleaner in it's own rite.

You still want to dilute the soap and then thicken it. Concentrated soap can actually do less work than properly diluted soap that has been thickened.

There are several methods you can use to thicken your soap. Sodium (NaOH) BDG, Borax, Xanthem Gum, Guar gum, or even plain table salt can help thicken your soap.

This should be a good start, let us know if you need some help moving it along.

Happy Soaping Smile

-Rick

http://www.knicenclean.com your single-most largest free BDG soaping content on the internet.