BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Diesel vehicles and other diesel equipment  Hop To Forums  Volkswagen TDI's    My VW 1.9 engine doesnt like biodiesel!

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

My VW 1.9 engine doesnt like biodiesel!
 Login/Join

posted
I have been making and using biodiesel for 7 years now, my quality is high, always >98% conversion, <200ppm of water and <60ppm of soap.
I have two Skoda Felicia cars, a hatchback and an estate. They have the 1.9 VW diesel in its simplest version, Rotary pump, no turbo, single camshaft, 2 valves per cylinder. They have run perfectly on B100 for 180,000 miles between them.

About 6 months ago the estate car broke down. The water pump failed causing the engine to overheat and damaging the head gasket. I had it towed home and replaced the waterpump and removed the cylinder head. I had the head skimmed, replaced the valve stem guides and also a couple of hydraulic tappets that were worn. I refitted the head with a new correct head gasket and replaced the timing belt while I was doing this. Ive done the timing belt on these cars before so I am confident it was done correctly. I also replaced the fuel filter.
When the repair was finished the engine was hard to start and ran very roughly with bluish white smoke when cold though once it is warm it ran perfectly.
I checked the heater plugs and sure enough one was faulty. After fitting a new one the engine started more easily but still ran very rough and smokey when cold. I removed the injectors and tested them with a pop tester and they are ok. I checked the timing and it is ok. The compression seems good and there is no smoke coming from either the oil filler cap or the dipstick tube. I have a short section of clear fuel hose on the injector pump and can see that the pump is receiving fuel with no air bubbles in it.