BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Diesel vehicles and other diesel equipment  Hop To Forums  Miscellaneous vehicles and engines    Trucks; Best Makes and Engines to run BioDiesel

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Trucks; Best Makes and Engines to run BioDiesel
 Login/Join

posted
Hello. Newbie here. I would like to purchase a full sized diesel pickup truck to run on homemade bio diesel. I have been looking at the 2005-2008 Ford F250 but not sure about running bio diesel in the 6.0 engine. I would appreciate any feedback on what specific engines would be the best choice. Brand of truck not as important than the right engine/trans. Thank you.

Question:
What full sized pickup engines will run the best on bio diesel?

Choices:
Ford 7.3, 6.0?
Dodge Cummins?
Chevy??

Location: Orange County, CA | Registered: November 27, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sorry, I didn't intend to make this a pole! Durn "newbies".

Location: Orange County, CA | Registered: November 27, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Anything prior to Common Rail injection is going to leave you with more "wiggle room" for fuel quality. CR requires consistently high-quality fuel. And I do my best, but I know once in a while my fuel quality drops off some due to weather, equipment flukes, available time, even math errors (but that is very rare for me).

So Ford 7.3, Cummins 12V 5.9. I don't know when Duramax went between different IP set-ups.

Location: Southern WI, USA | Registered: May 18, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The 6.0 Powerstroke is for the most part the last engine you want to buy. I prefer the Cummins 2003-2007 with 2006 and 2007 in the 5.9 liter size being the best.

Ford with 7.3 are good. Dodge from 1994-98 are great but really old and hard to find in good shape.