Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

B75 vs B100
 Login/Join

posted
A couple quick questions for the Duramax Crowd (Please!)
1. I have been running biodiesel for abour 7 months. Have done Engine Oil Analysis with B-50 and B-75, which look great. Have also done compression testing prior to biodiesel, after B-50 and after B-75 without any changes (up or down by 5% and varies, probable testing error).
2. I have read some folks with coking problems using B-100, others say it runs great.
3. during warm weather (say above 50) has anyone had any issues with 100%? I am trying to determine if the problem is an engine specific issue, a fuel quality issue, or if there is really no issue.
4. I am considering an AUX tank so I can run the b100 with a b-50 start up and cool down, which will be needed in winter anyway, but may need in summer?
5. Any experience, guidance or a reference for review would be most appreciated.
6. If anyone is using Amzoil, note they have two grades of heavy duty Diesel compatable oils now. Am trying the one that is more heavy duty, meets the merceds specs. Will check oil analysis and glad to forward to anyone interested.
many thanks
Duramax Driver

Duramax Driver
03 duramax
06 Lib CRD

Location: Maryland | Registered: May 03, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have been running B100 in my 2004 Duramax for over 2 years and 51,000 miles. I have had no real issues other than a filter plugging period which was totally my fault, and a cracked filter head housing which is un related to using bio and a common defect with the Duramax.

If it aint broke, dont fix it! But its ok to take it apart and see how it operates.

posted Hide Post
Thanks for the update.