BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Diesel vehicles and other diesel equipment  Hop To Forums  6.6 Duramax    08 duramax issues on b100?

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

08 duramax issues on b100?
 Login/Join

posted
I am just getting into the biofuel market and was wondering if there is any concrete conclusions on running b100 in an 08 duramax.
IE:somehting about DPF , lots of fuel filters and post injection?
I live in peoria, AZ so cold weather not going to be a problem.
any assistance to my possibly reduntant question would be greatly appreciated.

PS: also have 07 duramax same or different issues?

Location: Peoria, AZ | Registered: July 17, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you have a DPF still on I would not run b100. I dont believe you will have the necessary ignition temp of the biodiesel when it is sprayed into the DPF for soot cleaning. Ive been running 50% for over 1000 miles now with no problems. I think that is a safe level with a DPF.

Location: Fontana, Ca | Registered: May 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I forgot to say that I have an 08 GMC Sierra LMM with 6000 miles on it now. My only issue was a clogged fuel filter in about 50 miles. I replaced it and no problems since.

Location: Fontana, Ca | Registered: May 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The Duramax does NOT spray diesel fuel into the DPF; that would be the FORD. The lines you see running into the DPF sense the internal pressure, therefore sense when the filter is full and trigger a regen.

Biodiesel has less BTU per unit volume than petro-diesel but that is the only difference. People that slept through science class in the back row jump to all kinds of conclusions.

Location: Southern California | Registered: October 28, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post