BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Dry Washing Biodiesel    instructions on building my own drywash processor
Page 1 2 

Moderators: The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

instructions on building my own drywash processor
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
jehu if you don't do a soap test after your wood towers how can you know its taking out the soap? Unless the soap falls out of solution and begins to clump together the sawdust won't take out the soap

posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by AZBiodsl:
jehu if you don't do a soap test after your wood towers how can you know its taking out the soap? Unless the soap falls out of solution and begins to clump together the sawdust won't take out the soap

AZ, who told you this? Its nonsense.

Location: Scotland | Registered: March 19, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I am not a scientist or a chemist either, but after filtering over 1/2 million gallons of bio I have drawn a few conclusions.

1:Sawdust chips work, they DO remove soap. Life is dependant on the ppm of soap in the bio going into the sawdust. Many, many soap test over the last year and a half have shown this. I like to see soap numbers in the 500ppm range or less before the filters.

2:Methanol left in the fuel greatly reduces the soap removal properties of the dust. For the first several hundred gallons you want see this with the soap test, your results will look good.(volumn will be dependant on cubic feet of dust used) As the wood chips are used and soak up more and more methanol your soap numbers will start to rise. From experience and many test if the fuel is demethed I can filter several thousand gallon before soap numbers get to high, but if the fuel is NOT demethed I was lucky to get 1000 gallon before failing soap test.