BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Dry Washing Biodiesel    dry washing for the frist time

Moderators: The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

dry washing for the frist time
 Login/Join

posted
I'm just started dry washing for the frist time last night. I'm using a metering pump that pumps 10gph. Im using hard wood sawdust. When I frist started the biodiesel came out crystal clear. I tested in a five gallon bucket before putting in a 55 gallon drum. I filter about 15 gallons last night, and when I looked at it this morning it was really cloudy. It was cold last night in the low 30's. Any ideas what could do this. Should I start over?

Thanks

posted Hide Post
I mixed 1 ml of distilled water with 1 ml of my biodiesel at room temperature then stirred a lot. I checked the pH of the water and it was above 10. Potassium soap pH is about that much. I'm not an expert. I think if you mix 1 ml of your dry washed biodiesel with 1 ml of distilled water, then stir a lot, measure the pH of the water with a proper paper pH test strip. If your pH is very close to 7 then I expect your dry wash is working. Did you demeth and allow settling before dry washing? Some people say testing the pH of biodiesel is useless, but I expect it can be one test of purity if a distilled water extract is obtained. thanks

Location: Texas | Registered: April 27, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
So I demeth the fuel before drywashed it. I heated the fuel up and let it sit for 24 hours or so. I havent test the PH yet of the fuel. It's kinda werid it came out clear, and then 12 hours later its cloudy? .

Thanks

posted Hide Post

When you pass bio thru sawdust for the first time it collects resin and fine sawdust and makes the bio cloudy.