BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Diesel vehicles and other diesel equipment  Hop To Forums  Volkswagen pre TDI    Puff of smoke when I mash on the accelerator (81 VW Caddy)

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Puff of smoke when I mash on the accelerator (81 VW Caddy)
 Login/Join

posted
I'm a bit new to the Caddys (1980, 1981 1.6L Non-Turbo) and small Diesel engines.

One thing I've started to notice is that when I push the pedal to the metal, I see a pretty gnarly puff of black smoke in my rear-view mirror.

I'm noticing it mostly on freeway onramps, but perhaps it is less obvious elsewhere.

I imagine it is partly my fault with upshifting too quickly, and not downshifting frequently enough.

However, I'm wondering if it is a fundamental flaw with the design of injected engines, and what has led to the stigma against small Diesel Engines in the USA.

I.E. With a carbureted gasoline engine, the fuel/air mixture is pretty much determined by the venturi, and the engine speed is regulated by the amount of the fuel/air mixture let into the cylinder.

In a traditional, mechanical injection Diesel engine,
The air intake is pretty much wide open, and unregulated (primarily varies with engine speed).
The amount of fuel injected varies with the accelerator.

So, with the gasoline engine, the venturi can handle a wide range of air flows, and can even handle a turbocharger/supercharger reasonably well.

With the traditional injected Diesel Engine, on the other hand, it is much harder to match the correct air/fuel mixture with the engine speed. Thus, one is often running either lean or rich.

I guess my question is what, if anything, can I do about it other than altering my driving style?