BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Methanol Recovery    Air compressor tank recovery unit

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Air compressor tank recovery unit
 Login/Join

posted
I am trying to find something to make a heater to recover the methanol from my glycerin out of, and came across an old air compressor pressure tank. It is in good shape, and looks like it will hold 10-15 gallons. I was wondering if anyone has made a unit out of one.

What I planned was to stand it on it's end and weld on some fittings for a water heater element, and plumbing, then insulate it.

I am just getting started making bio, and have not de-methed glycerin yet, so am not sure if this will work, or if I need to look for something with a removable top (the plans I have seen usually call for a metal 5 gallon pail or something similar). I really want something that will do 7-8 gallons at a time, so I don't have to do the recovery twice with each batch.

Will the warm glycerin flow out of a standard 3/4" valve after being de-methed, or will it get too thick, and need to be removed from an open top?

Any ideas or pictures of de-mething heaters would be appreciated.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: JunkMan,

Jeff
1995 F250 4x4 Powerstroke
2000 TDI Beetle
1982 300D project

Location: Black Hills of South Dakota | Registered: May 18, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Heres pictures of ours http://www.biodieselpictures.com/viewtopic.php?t=614

We use a 550watt element with 110v. I think the reflux column is key, we get 99% methanol. You have to empty the glcyerin while its hot or it will go solid

posted Hide Post
Here's one made by tgomes (hope I'm not stealin' yer thunder)

http://www.biodieselpictures.com/viewtopic.php?t=444

Location: New Zealand | Registered: August 15, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post