BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  Methanol Recovery    Methanol Recovery Help - Newbie

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Methanol Recovery Help - Newbie
 Login/Join

posted
I have been making biodiesel now for the past 2 years and my concern on recovering the methanol has gone up pretty high. I am on here now going through different forums and reading about this and that. I guess you need to do it do understand what some people are talking about. I have never made a still so I am trying to figure out what to make. If I understand this right, you need a container that is vapor proof to start with. Drill and tap in a water heater element with a control temp device. Copper vapor tube running up out of the container into some type of cool down. I was thinking about a small radiator with a fan? Then a hose running down into another sealed container with the recovered methanol. If I understood that correctly, I also heard the magic temp is around 147 degrees to evap. methanol from the glyc? The temp will go up once the methanol start evap. and once it hits about 190 degrees it's pretty much done? If you have pictures of any of your setups that would help me on my way.
Thanks

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L Turbo Diesel

Fuel Blends, Recorded Miles
Diesel: 46445
B20: 978
B40: 447
B60: 2167
B80: 18690
B100: 57929

Location: Southern Minnesota | Registered: March 01, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
keep reading..

I have posted pictures of my setup so have others.

190F isn't done..I seem to remember that done is closer to 240F, but most don't run that high or that long..I stop at 205F

research reflux columns...

fan cooled radiators make great conedsers..that's what I use..

mine built from a water heater.

methanol/glycerin mix will start boiling around 170 and go up depending on ration. pure methanol boils at 148.xxF.

-dkenny