BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  General Biodiesel Discussion    I see it's time for the annual winter fuel treatment class.
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I see it's time for the annual winter fuel treatment class.
 Login/Join

posted
I see we have a few questions about winter fuel treatment. Let me start by saying, I'm not an expert at this, just an educated amateur. So, your mileage may vary.

Here's a copy, with a few minor revisions, of my previous post about how I do winter fuel.

When you speak of winter treatment of biodiesel, you have entered the dark arts.

I say that because your homebrew can be subtly or dramatically different than mine, your vehicle can be more or less tolerant of some wax precipitate, and your weather can certainly be different than mine. The following discussion assumes you are making top quality, well converted, properly washed, dried and filtered biodiesel. If you are cutting corners on any of that, you can get stranded and freeze your genitals off. You’ve been warned.

Despite all that, here are some general guidelines:

A. Your starting oil matters. Unhydrogenated canola is generally considered to make the best winter biodiesel. Soy is pretty good. Animal fats, coconut oil and palm oil are terrible winter stocks. The resultant biodiesel gels in the temp range of 40-70F. Partially hydrogenated oils (shortening, often a semi-liquid) can give anything from good to terrible winter performance. Fully hydrogenated veggie oils (even canola) make lousy winter fuel. These oils are solid at room temperature.