BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  General Biodiesel Discussion    Biodiesel stability and new engines like the BlueTEC
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Biodiesel stability and new engines like the BlueTEC
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
quote:
Injecting into the exhaust stroke costs about 3 lines of code in the ECM. Dumping it into the exhaust requires the same 3 lines of code, plus an injector, plus some way to pressurize that injector. If memory serves, GM went to the separate injector on the Duramaxes.

Bill

the doser set up uses low pressure (just under 100 psi) so it's not that high tech. electric fuel pumps are capable of that kind of pressure so yes it's extra parts but I can't see them costing that much for a better system but I'm no engineer

21 years off the grid and counting

Location: Muskoka, Ont, Can | Registered: March 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm sure the 'logic' behind DPF's is that the particulate matter is stored when at lower rpm's (in town) then the thing re-gens on the open road (out of town)

Trouble is the carbon and whatever else is still around us.

Here in the UK only a few of our power stations can burn WMO as most of them don't have efficient scrubbers to reduce emissions.
Apparantly as a result a lot of our WMO gets shipped to China where it is burnt in their power stations?

Location: YORK UK | Registered: April 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Diesel particulate filters remove certain small particles from the exhaust stream where they are then eventually burned and the ash from the burn remains in the DPF.
The particles trapped never make it into the atmosphere as they are burned up in the DPF and turned into ash which collects in the DPF.
Over time the DPF will fill with ash and will need to be cleaned out or replaced depending on design.