New
Find
Notify
Tools

HELP PLEASE
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to biodiesel brewing and have just put my first 120Lt WVO
into a storage tank on the back yard. I connected a pump from the base of the tank to the top and pumped the WVO for an hour to mix all the WVO together. As a result of this pumping I now have a thick creamy crust on top of the oil about two inches thick, have i ruined the oil because of the pumping, or is the oil still O.K? Any advice please.

Thanks Trevor.

posted Hide Post
Pumping the wvo shouldn't have caused a crust on top of the oil. IS it a greasy crust? I didn't look to see where your from ,and wondered if its from cold temps. Is the wvo heated? Has it been filtered thru a screen? You didn't mention anything about adding any chemicals?

Location: western new york | Registered: November 19, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Trevor
-sounds like your wvo was very wet and you have created some salad dressing (emulsion) this will break if you let it sit in the sun, or heat the oil. This oil will need to be dryed before you can process it into biodiesel. Tom

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi thanks for your fast reply. I live in U.K. very cold at this time around 11c, oils is outside, no heat in tank.
I have not used any chemicals at all, just filtered W.V.O into tank straight from local chip shop, and plumed it around for about an hour, I would say that the crust is greasy. Thanks again for reply Trevor

posted Hide Post
I Tom thanks for reply, I will take any advise regarding this problem, thanks again Trevor

posted Hide Post
At that temperature the PHO and fats in the UVO will solidify and separate. It's best to separate the PHO and fats from the UVO to make cold tolerant biodiesel.