BIODIESEL & SVO DISCUSSION FORUMS

Sponsors    Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Biodiesel  Hop To Forums  General Biodiesel Discussion    virgin veggie oil problem/question

Moderators: Shaun, The Trouts
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

virgin veggie oil problem/question
 Login/Join

posted
I have been making and using biodiesel for 9 years. Few bad batches, but overall very successful. I just got lucky and was given several 55 gallon barrels of new unused veggie oil. Some soy oil and some conola. Sealed, not contaminated, from a company that went out of business. I thought it would make great bio! Although the bio is coming out well, I am finding some things:
1. I need about 50% more Potassium than my measurements indicate to get good separation.
2. During mixing, this stuff foams so bad I am having to reduce the volume in the mixer to prevent spills.
3. I usually do the two phase 70/30 or 60/40 method. With this stuff I am doing 70/30 and then another 30, still getting separation.
After all the foaming and the extral processing, it comes out wonderful. Still bubble wash etc.

Any ideas as to the problems I am seeing? Did another batch with my used oils, and was back to regular processing, so it is clearly the virgin oil, not measurements, ingredients etc. Any help or suggestions appreciated.

duramax driver

Duramax Driver
03 duramax
06 Lib CRD

Location: Maryland | Registered: May 03, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hi duramax driver,

Just to understand, do you mean the oil foams after you add the methoxide to the oil?
can you be specific as to the amount of chemicals you are using in each stage.
Are you titrating? If so what is the titration.

A problem with two stage procedures is that if you are not careful you will not include enough KOH in the first stage to use all the methanol available in the first stage- the reaction will stop short from lack of KOH and there will be excess methanol in the glycerine layer.