Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

home made Outdoor wood boiler
 Login/Join

posted Hide Post
being a mechanic myself I can appreciate the work invested in that Nova Bob.Looks good

21 years off the grid and counting

Location: Muskoka, Ont, Can | Registered: March 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yeah Bob that is me. Did I meet you at Daves or in town somewhere? I cant remember since I meet so many people just once up here. They stop in all the time looking for Rodger and parts I dont have.

Im working on the fuel supply for the oil burner, trying to figure it out and get the barrel setup outside for a gravity feed. Should be up and running tomorrow to see how it works. If you can get it lit WVO will burn in it too, getting it going is the problem with it.

Im trying something simple and low buck to heat water, and water isnt the main heat source, its more like grabbing some more heat before it goes up the pipe. So even if it doesnt heat the water super efficiently, it should still work. I just dont want to boil it, about 150F would work good for me. The oil burner wont be the only heat source, almost have the second source workable. Probably sometime after Dec 1 when I get another check.

More on the second source if it works well enough.

Location: Marquette MI. in da U.P. eh! | Registered: April 20, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
..hi all..

..i've not finished reading the thread but one thing comes to mind..

..expansion tanks and refill systems. Cheap plastic exapnsion tanks , like water cisterns are fine, and small is ok, say 2 feet square. The expansion pipe curves over into the tank, and the refill is done using a simple toilet float valve set to close at say 3 inches from the base of the tank. the refill attaches to the cold return pipe. Use wide pipe say 1 inch for the expansion, but standard 1/2 inch for the refill..