New
Find
Notify
Tools

Feeling discouraged
 Login/Join

posted
Hi vegoil friends,

I'm feeling discouraged. I've been running my 2004 Jetta TDI on SVO for a few years now and I've had more problems with the car than I expected. I've spent about $7,000 in repairs, with at least $2,000 of that directly related to SVO issues. Maybe more. It's difficult to know as I'm not a mechanic. I've had air leaks and fuel pump failure repaired in the SVO system, and it appears that the fuel pump has failed again. Have I contributed to these problems by inadequate vegoil filtration and water removal? Should I call it quits?

Thanks,
Gina

2004 Jetta TDI SVO (converted by PlantDrive)
Formerly 1987 Mercedes Benz 300D - B100

Location: California | Registered: July 09, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Wow that's a lot of money. fact is these cars are expensive to keep on the road even if you burn dinodiesel! The 05 we had wanted a new fuel pump about every year and a half. the manifolds gum up with carbon and the belt and water pump need to be replaced at specific intervals.
If you think the wet poorly filtered oil was your problem, fix that and carry on.

" I don't know what I don't know until I know"
1994 GMC 6.5 Tubo 2005 Dodge ram 3500, 3 VW's 2000, 2002, 2005.

Location: Manitoba Canada | Registered: March 24, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yes, You should definitely call it quits.

Get rid of that POS and get yourself a decent vehicle.

A very good friend of mine was the service manager at a VW dealership and went to another brand because he could not stand feeling genuinely sorry for the people that had the things that there was no way to make reliable cars that didn't send the owners broke. He would fix the tins at great expense doing everything he knew to check and test them and they would fail again quickly leaving the owners stranded, frustrated and often missing important events.