Biodiesel and SVO Forums Home
If you run long enough on WVO will you have to pay the Poly Piper?

This topic can be found at:
http://biodiesel.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/159605551/m/3117059083

June 10, 2016, 10:38 AM
Mr. Seadog
If you run long enough on WVO will you have to pay the Poly Piper?
I posted this question on Frybrid's website but hasn't gotten any replay yet so I thought I would post here as well.

Here is the question; For those that have been running on wvo for a long time, will at some point in time will you end up with a system fouled with Poly? I call it paying the piper.

I have been using wvo since 2008 and figure to have driven in excess of 200,000 miles without much of a hassle. While the warning signs were there things came to a head last year when the car would not start. I found the fuel system badly fouled. I ended up breaking everything down to clean out the system. Cleaned the Solenoid Valves, Flat plate Heat Exchanger, and VO Filter Heat Exchanger. Replaced the injection pump and injector nozzles. Blew out all the lines including the diesel side return to the diesel fuel tank. All is good now but I got to wondering whether or not paying the Poly Piper was inevitable.

As I said the warning signs were there. Several years prior the fuel selector solenoid valve became fouled with bits of poly during a trip. I cleaned out the valve and was soon on my way again but should have realized trouble was brewing. The only place poly could have come from was the fphe and/or the brass fittings on the fphe. It was the only thing the VO filter and the fuel solenoid.

Since getting back up and running again I now use an Oxidative Stabilizer in the oil I have to help in preventing the formation of poly. The question is whether or not this will happen again sometime down the road.
June 13, 2016, 09:23 AM
kirkh